Poll Everywhere for Students
Poll Everywhere is an online polling program that your instructor may use in class to take attendance, collect data, or check understanding of the current topic.
You will receive an email about registering after your instructor has set up Poll Everywhere in Blackboard. If you have already registered for Poll Everywhere for another course at UML, you will not receive another email to register and you will not need to register again. If you have not previously registered, it is extremely important that you do not skip over this email. If you don't complete the registration process, your answers will not be recorded in your instructor's grade report.
If your instructor is choosing only to use this as an engagement tool or to quickly check understanding in class, they may not require you to register because it will not be going to the Grade Center. If this is the case, you will not need to log in and you will not receive an email about registering. Your instructor will let you know if this is the case.
If your answers are not going through or you are repeatedly getting an error that you are not registered, you will need to make sure that you are logged in on the app or the website. Then, make sure that you are using "Eduroam" for your Wi-fi. If you are logged in and on Eduroam, you can also try going to Pollev.comand click forgot password. If none of these trouble shooting suggestions work, please email@example.com so we can help you figure out what is happening.
The image below is the first page you will see when go to the app or Pollev.com. This is where you will enter the name given on your instructor's presented question (i.e. ProfessorSmith1234).
This next page is where you need to register on the website. If you are using the app, the app can save your credentials and you will only need to do this once. You will need to do this every time if you are using the website. It is extremely important that you do not use the "Skip for now" button because your answers will not be recorded. As mentioned above, only use that option if your instructor tells you to do so.
The photo below is both versions of what you will see once logged in. The image on the left is what your instructor will show. The image on the right is what you will see once you are logged into the website or the app. Click your answer choice or choices. There is nothing more you need to do. There is no submit button. Unless the instructor locks your answers, you will be able to change your answer before the poll is closed. Some questions will allow you to select more than one answer. All of these settings will be displayed at the top of your screen with the answer selections.
Once you have answered a question, you will be able to check to see if your answer went through, as well as seeing what your answers were. At the bottom of the app (this will appear on the left if you are on the website, but the icons and appearance of the screen are the same.) you will see a History button. Click on that button and you will get a list of all your previous questions answered as well as how you answered below each one. If you have multiple answers for one question, each of those will appear on a separate line.